LatinNews Daily - 15 February 2023

In brief: Costa Rica added to EU tax haven blacklist

*The European Council (EC) has announced that it has added Costa Rica to its list of non-cooperative jurisdictions for tax purposes – a list of jurisdictions which are “non-cooperative on tax matters” and invited “to improve their legal framework in order to resolve the identified issues”. According to an EC statement, for the first time since the list was established, in 2017, Costa Rica is included because it has not fulfilled its commitment to “abolish or amend the harmful aspects of its foreign source income exemption regime (criterion 2.1)”. The EC also announced that it was removing Barbados, Jamaica and Uruguay from the list (along with North Macedonia). Latin America & Caribbean territories which remain on the list include Anguilla, Bahamas, British Virgin Islands, Panama, Trinidad & Tobago, Turks & Caicos Islands and US Virgin Islands.

End of preview - This article contains approximately 133 words.

Subscribers: Log in now to read the full article

Not a Subscriber?

Choose from one of the following options

Intelligence Research Ltd.
167-169 Great Portland Street,
5th floor,
London, W1W 5PF - UK
Phone : +44 (0) 203 695 2790
You may contact us via our online contact form
Copyright © 2022 Intelligence Research Ltd. All rights reserved.